katharine loses track of internet trends

Are we still blogging these days?

I have acquaintances who use Tumblr, LinkedIn, Friendfeed, Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, plus a blog. The blog is linked to all the other social networking profiles. And now, with Google+ on the social media scene, it all seems a bit excessive, especially when I can barely muster up enough to say in a tweet.

The trouble is that it’s so easy to sign up for these things. But like gym memberships and new toys, we’re gung ho about them until we become bored, frustrated or seduced by something else. My personal frustration comes from a lack of audience. often do I go down the road of “Why am I writing this if no one is reading it?” and abandon whatever it is I was working on. Since my introduction to web publishing in 2000, I’ve started and abandoned five blogs, three LiveJournals, one MySpace account, and one LinkedIn account. Now I’m active on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and Google+.

And then there’s this blog. Sure, I could try to get motivated by way of convincing myself that I’m blogging for me. But if you’re writing just  for the exercise of it, there are plenty of journal applications to use without a Publish to Web button.

How much personal information do I need to reveal to the internet? And does the internet (or its inhabitants) really care whether I add photos from my upcoming trip to PEI to my dormant Flickr account or fill out another 25 things about me questionnaire? Are any of my friends, acquaintances or stalkers so desperate for constant updates from me that they’ll take it in 140-character bites? I suspect that I could delete everything no one would notice.

Since completing my 30 Failures project, I’ve been using most of my social media outlets to promote various books and projects. My tweets are either blatant self-promotion or observations on random pop culture items. My Tumblr is full of reblogs of bowler hats, cats, and 1960s British comedians. Facebook gets all my whining about sinus woes, links to YouTube videos of 1960s British comedians, and blurry snapshots of my cats.

What will become of the blogs in the tl;dr (too long; didn’t read) era? Where posts gets skipped if not accompanied by twee photos or viral videos? How many times do we have to start over and reconsider how we use the internet and connect with other people?

One thought on “katharine loses track of internet trends

  1. I’ve been blogging for almost ten years now, and I know what you mean. When the fad finally passed — or when Facebook took over — the infrastructure collapsed, too. I used to go through blogrolls to find new reads, now if I try that 90% of the blogs haven’t been updated in two years. Makes it hard to find things that haven’t been pre-digested by reddit. Perhaps there’s some way to rebuild a blogging community? After all, those of us who are left are *hard core*

Leave a Reply

